COE File embedded in BIT file?

Konsolenpunk

Hi,

my name is Patrick and I am a computer scientist. I am starting to dive a bit into FPGAs (and in my case VHDL).

So after doing some basic stuff, I wanna try to emulate a ROM IC for an old german gaming console much like the Atari 2600.

So the task is basically turning an 11 bit address input into (the correct) 8 bit data output aswell as matching/shifting the levels (5V to 3.3V (input into Papilio), 3.3V to 5V (output of Papilio)) and fulfill the right timing constraint (~400ns between adress input and data output).

I used an IP Core/Vendor module (Block memory generator/Single port ROM) for the ROM memory and initialized it with a COE file. In the simulator everything is working fine and i can see the change of the data output according to the change of the address input change. But when I look into the generated BIT file I cannot see that the data from the COE file is embedded in it. I cannot find e.g. the first two byte sequence in the BIT file.  

So my question is: Is the ROM initialization (COE file) embedded into the BIT file or do I need to so some extra steps such that the ROM initialization is embeeded into the configuration/BIT file. Is this even possible since due to the "black box"-warning of the Xlinix ISE I guess nothing for the ROM module is even generated into the BIT file?

Sorry, if this is a beginners question.

Hi,

you could compare with an inferred ROM to "test your testbench".

Attached is a (Verilog) example for a dual-port memory that (usually) results in RAMB instantiations during synthesis.

memBank.zip

Here it -is- used as RAM but if you replace this part

integer    ix;
   initial
     for (ix = 0; ix < 'h1FF; ix = ix + 1)
       ram[ix] = 0;

e.g.

initial begin ram[0] = 123; ram[1] = 234; ... end

and don't write, you can use it as ROM.

The initial values do get synthesized correctly, otherwise the synthesis tool would be seriously broken.