FPGA Saving Images to MicroSD Wing

cburt

Hello,

I am brand new to FPGAs and am trying to 1) learn about FPGAs and 2) save an image from a camera to an SD Card using FPGAs. The goal is to use this as a stepping stone to develop a stand-alone aerial imaging system for Quadcopters, aircrafts, etc. Thank you for taking the time to read this, and please excuse me for my novice comments. 

I am having trouble finding a project that goes through the details of writing an image from a camera module much like the ov7670 (link below) to the MicroSD Wing (link below) using a Papillo board. If you know of any projects that are in anyway similar, could you forward them? Also, I am planning on ordering the Papillo One board and a few wings so I can learn by doing. If you have any recommendations on specific hardware that would be beneficial for my goal, I would love your input.

ov7670:

http://www.electrodragon.com/product/ov7670-camera-module-breakout-board-power-cable/

MicroSD Wing:

http://papilio.cc/index.php?n=Papilio.MicroSDWing

Just to say it, I am planning on working this project and updating my status to this forum in case anyone else is interested. Open Source all the way.

Thank you guys!

-CB

Hello CB,

Mike Fields has some info on his website:

http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/SD_card_testing

http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/OV7670_camera

I have a new OV7670 Wing and more of the uSD Wings on the way right now, they should arrive in the next week or so and we will then get them in the store.

I think the best solution for this problem is to first make a Wishbone core for the OV7670 that can be plugged into the ZPUino using the ZAP IDE/Papilio Schematic Library. A Wishbone core for the SD card would be nice too but not necessary to start out. We could then use the ZPUino to read data from the OV7670 and save to the SD card.

Jack.

Hi,