Mojo buyer - regretted :(

yabapolido

Hello,

First of all, I'm sorry for asking my question here, I don't have a Papilio, instead I've bought a Mojo v3, and I think I will regret it for a long time... The hardware is fine, it's the support forum that bugs me, almost dead :|

Also, I'm still a newbie on FPGA so here it goes:

Mojo communicates with the AVR onboard and then with the PC via serial port (http://embeddedmicro.com/tutorials/mojo/hello-world/)
I've been using this project as starting point, and want to make a simple change:
Input data via serial, and after pressing Enter, the FPGA would return the data again.
I think I need a shift register and ram right? or just a big vector?
Could someone point me some tutorial or best way to acomplish this?
I can only use 8bits with tx_data and rx_data.
After understanding this, what I really want is to send a string, have it processed by a MD5 core, and then make it return the hash, everything via UART.

Thanks!

BTW: After I understand the basics, my intention is to convert this:

http://infinityexists.com/videos/fpga-md5-cracker/

To Spartan6LX9, without VGA or PS2 keyboard. Yep, still a loooong way, too much to learn :)

I am very unhappy to hear that you purchased a Mojo :) As I am sure you are aware, if you were using a Papilio, then you wouldn't have the AVR in the loop, and you would have a lot more willing helpers.

However, if you dig around on my Wiki (http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page) you might find projects of interest.

But in answer to your question you need to receive the data, move it into the format you need for processing - whatever matches your cores requirements - then transmit the data back to the host once processed. 

Transmitting is easy, receiving is harder. All of this is covered http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/FPGA_course

Hi hamster.