loader insists on java runtime

I am new to the Papilio world and spent some time tonight getting the xilinx webpack installed and the various other drivers.  Fine.

When I installed the Papilio Loader program, I chose the PapilioLoader-2.4-Setup-noJava.zip option, as I don't have Java on my system, and don't want java on my system.  I was glad to see the loader gave me that option.  I installed it, but when I attempted to load the Quickstart bitfile to my papilio pro, I got the message saying Java Runtime 1.6 was required.

So then I thought maybe I misunderstood -- java is required, and "noJava" means I don't want to install the java runtime, and the other one I should use if need to include the java runtime.  So I tried installing the other one .. and when I attempt to download the quickstart bitfile, I get the same message.

So can someone clarify: is java runtime a requirement (waaah!) or not (yay!)?

Thank you.

Hello Jim,

Its always a trade off when the desire is to make an application that can run in Windows and Linux. Java is not my favorite solution either but it is one of the best ways to make a cross platform application. Unfortunately the Papilio Loader GUI is written in Java and it does require the Java JRE. The PapilioLoader-2.4-Setup-noJava.zip option means that it does not include an installer for the Java JRE. It is meant for people who already have a JRE installed and do not want to download another one. The full option will install a JRE for you, I believe it gives you the option to cancel out, but without a JRE the Papilio Loader GUI will not run.