Programming to FPGA SPI Flash not working

adamada

Hi. So I'm a student at Binghamton University's EECE department. We use the Papilio Duo boards (plus the LogicStart shield, but that's not relevant) for our design courses. I (and many others in my class) have been having an issue with writing FPGA bit files to the persistent SPI flash memory. Using Papilio Loader (or even papilio-prog) to write to the FPGA directly works fine, but it needs to stay plugged into the computer, and it loses the program when you disconnect the power.

When I try to write to SPI Flash, the program output does not indicate any problems. It indicates it could erase, verify erase, write, and verify successfully. But then nothing functions, even when I remove and reapply power. It starts working again when I load the file to FPGA directly.

I have tried this using multiple computers (Linux, Windows, OS X) and I still have this problem. I have tried both SW1 positions to no avail, I have tried pressing the "FPGA Reset" button, and I have tried triggering an FPGA reconfiguration using papilio-prog. Nothing seems to help. Is there a known fix for this, or should I contact support to request an exchange? Note that I was able to program to SPI Flash successfully until about a month ago. (I can't think of anything that should have caused this change). Thanks.

So I downloaded DesignLab and it seems I can load the ZPUino QuickStart circuit and sketch onto my board from the examples, and it stays persistent when I reconnect power. So I guess the SPI flash is not totally broken. But my school isn't using the Spartan 6 for ZPUino at all. We have been using Xilinx ISE projects, generating bit files, and using the Papilio Loader to get them onto our boards. I don't believe the best solution should be to just stop using that toolchain all together.