General technical questions

stm

Hi,

I'm new to FPGA programming. I'm interested in the Papilio DUO and I have some general technical questions.

I have an old 6502-based computer (Ohio Scientific Challenger 1P). The project that I'm thinking of is to build a floppy controller with simulated floppy drives. An SD card would be used to provide the floppy storage. I would also like to implement a 32 kB RAM expansion for the machine.

My first question is, would the Papilio DUO be an appropriate platform for this kind of project? The FPGA would need to provide the logic that on the real board was implemented with an 6820 and 6580 chip and additional TTL logic chips. To avoid any confusion, I'm talking here about 1980's technology, where the CPU was clocked with 1 MHz.

The second question is, how exactly can the 512 kB or 2 MB RAM of hte Papilio DUO be used? Is the RAM exclusively needed for storing the logical configuration of the FPGA, or could it also be used to store data, and  the FPGA makes it look like RAM to the 6502 CPU?

Thanks for your time

Stephan

My first question is, would the Papilio DUO be an appropriate platform for this kind of project? The FPGA would need to provide the logic that on the real board was implemented with an 6820 and 6580 chip and additional TTL logic chips. To avoid any confusion, I'm talking here about 1980's technology, where the CPU was clocked with 1 MHz.

You're going to have to create a level shifter board to sit between the two (the FPGA is designed to work with up to 3.3V logic, the 6502 works at 5V). Other than that, you're good.

The second question is, how exactly can the 512 kB or 2 MB RAM of hte Papilio DUO be used? Is the RAM exclusively needed for storing the logical configuration of the FPGA, or could it also be used to store data, and  the FPGA makes it look like RAM to the 6502 CPU?