I2C core with Zpuino

andyfive

Hello everyone,

I came across this page the other day describing how to add an I2C core to the Zpuino. Unfortunately, I am very new to FPGAs and VHDL and really have no idea how to put this to use. Could someone point me in the correct direction? As I understand it, I must add the 3 vhdl files to my zpuino project, edit papilio_top.vhdl and add a component called 'i2c_master_top', add the i2c_master_top to one of the wishbone slots, and then finally add the pps stuff at the end? Is this correct? Sorry for the lack of proper terms, as I said I am very new to this.  Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can offer. 

-AndyFive  :)

I2C cannot work with PPS, due to the required tri-state mode of operation, so you have to assign fixed pins to it.

Which board are you using ?

See this for an example: https://github.com/alvieboy/ZPUino-HDL/tree/work-0200/zpu/hdl/zpuino/boards/papilio-pro/S6LX9/variants/rgbctrl