Prototype: LogiStart MegaWing

Jack Gassett

Hey everyone, I've been working on a new MegaWing design that is meant as a low cost, open source MegaWing for people who want to experiment with digital logic. Mike Field wrote this great VHDL tutorial where he wants to use the Papilio, except for the Papilio doesn't have the things he needs like slide switches. This MegaWing gives these tutorials and anyone who wants to experiment with Digital logic a collection of hardware to play with.

This is my first attempt at the board and I'd appreciate any input from the community. I'm also tentatively calling it the LogiStart MegaWing but would appreciate feedback on the name too. :)

The board has the following hardware:

• 8 channel 12-bit SPI ADC
  • 8-bit (3r, 3g, 2b) VGA.
  • Mono audio jack that feeds to left and right outputs.
  • 8 slide switches
  • 8 LED's
  • Micro Digital Joystick with 4 directions and select
  • 7 Segment display with control over A-G and DP segments.

The source code can be found on Github, and a pdf of the schematic can be found here.

post-3-13431627491658.png

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Looks great.

A question, on the audio part : why is the resistor *after* the cap ? Not being an expert (at all) in analog electronics, I would have put it between the digital output and the cap, to prevent the cap from drawing/sinking big currents on level changes.

For the name : Papiliogic ? (ok, that really sucks)

dunno.  i kind of like 'LogicStart' as seems to imply that it is for newbies

to work with where as a lab is usually something with a bunch of stuff

that i probably know nothing about..

both are accurate i guess, but one makes me want to buy it,

while the other says, prepare to be overwhelmed.