Which papilio to use video processing and servo control quadruple robot

Hi! I'm new to the fpga world and I was looking through the different papilio boards.

So this semester im going to start a new project which involves a quadrupled robot, I want the robot to be able to move (obviously) with 12 servos, 3 in each leg, and I also will like it to receive and process video (enviroment tracking). For the servos I more or less have an idea on how to make them work, but for the video processing I have no idea where to start or even if papilio would be a good idea.

I decided to use fpga because this robot might have diferent sensors and they all have to be running in parallel with the actuators, video processing running along with the servos, and some other functionalities.

I been looking for papilio duo for a while, and it seems great and easy (hopefully), now my questions are, am I on the right track by using fpgas on a robot? Do the board can handle video processing? which of the papilio boards to use?

Thank you and I will probably buy the papilio even if it's not a good idea for a robot!

Hello,

I think for your requirements it is either the Papilio DUO or the Papilio Pro that you want to target. The external memory is going to be the key to video input/processing, you will need enough memory for a framebuffer.

The DUO is a more capable board overall, it has more bells and whistles including analog input and the AVR chip. The Pro has more memory available because it uses SDRAM, but using it directly is a real challenge. Having said that I don't think your project will want to use the memory directly anyway. I think your best bet is to use the ZPUino soft processor to build up the custom Robotic SOC that you need, then you can control everything with C code. You can use VHDL/Verilog for the hardware portions such as quad encoders, stepper drivers, video input. But they will have a C interface through the Wishbone bus so you can easily control them.