Project Feasibility

privitmj

Hello,

I am another newbie to the FPGA world. I stumbled across the Papilio Pro in Make magazine 36 as I was trying to determine which type of microcontroller I wanted to use for the project that I'm about to describe. I have been tasked to create a relay panel that will configure different rocket engine valves. Each engine has multiple valves with multiple valve coil configurations. For example, some need 4 coils in series or 2 sets of coils in series which are then paralleled etc. I have come up with a fairly accurate relay count of around 60. I'd like to also create a GUI for a windows based PC so that the operator can select a pre-programmed engine type or valve configuration and then in turn have the PC send the signal to the FPGA which in turn will be able to close which ever necessary relays that are required for that config. I have some microcontroller experience from college and I also own an Arduino, would I be better off using one of these? I like the idea of FPGAs and I always wanted to learn VHDL programming... In general, what are some advantages of using FPGAs over a microcontroller? And is it easy to interface with a FPGA through a GUI?

Thanks in advance for the help,

Mike

Hi! Sounds like an impressive project

Although it is more common to use a PLC, FPGAs are sometimes used in this sort of environment - the security system in my company's data center is based around a Spartan 3E, to agrigate all the inputs and output. I assume it then interfaces back to a microcontroller / embedded PC of some sort.

It all depends on how much intelligence you need in the controller - do you want the PC to be in control of the timing, or do you want the equivilent of scripts running in the embedded platform?