How does the RetroCade synth handle aliasing?

TAG

The quick answer, without reviewing the source code to verify. Since this is an FPGA we have plenty of resources, all operations on the audio data inside the FPGA are not using 8-bits, I think we are using 11-13 bits for all operations. The Delta-Sigma DAC is also 13 bits I think. Don't hold me to that, I didn't actually check, but from what I remember we are generating 8 bit audio but feeding all operations into 11-13 bit buses.

I'm no expert but my understanding is that it is more about the sample rate than the bit depth.  Do you know the sample rate of the DAC?  Here are some of the links I am reading to understand where I am coming from:

http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8602

And from Ludde's FPGA NES:

"Because the sample frequency of the APU is 1.79MHz, and the output frequency of my DAC is much much lower, I need to implement a digital low pass filter to remove the very high frequency components, to avoid aliasing artifacts. I implemented a 767 order FIR filter using one of the FPGA's DSP Multiply and Accumulate units and some block ram. The DSP unit can compute expressions on the form P = P + A * (B + C) in a single clock cycle. The FIR filter runs at 21.4773 MHz, and generates an output sample rate of 1/384th of that (55.9 kHz). Thanks to FIR filters being symmetrical, I only need to perform 768/2 = 384 multiplications per output sample, i.e. exactly one multiplication per clock cycle."

Both refer to the NES but applies to any pulse or saw wave that is sampled with a standard audio sample rate 

Our DAC is running at 96Mhz and we can run it faster if we need to, but I think that's fast enough for our application. The more bits you use the higher speed you are supposed to run at. Here is an app note about the Delta-Sigma DAC.

Are you hearing something on the output that concerns you? Or just looking into potential problem areas?