Help needed with Arcade Mega Wing

Guest williamlee

Guest williamlee

I just received my Papilio 500k and Arcade Mega Wing.  I'm hoping someone

can help me with an issue I am having.  I am unable to get any video

output over the VGA port on the Mega Wing.

I have confirmed that the Papilio appears to be in working order by

uploading the hello world program and monitoring the serial port

output.  It cycles through the symbols as expected.

I then successfully uploaded the ZPUino Soft Processor with HQVGA

targeted for ArcadeWing from the site, and hooked up the Mega Wing and

plugged it into a VGA monitor, and then gave it power over the USB

port.  Unfortunately, I am getting nothing on the monitor display.

I am a beginner to FPGAs and the Papilio, so I was hoping someone would be

able to suggest additional troubleshooting.  I am hoping it is

something simple I need to tweak.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Hello,

Sorry for the hassle, the MegaWing is still a work in progress and I'm still getting  all of the documentation in order. A quickstart guide for Zetris is next  on the list, but in short, what is happening in your case is that  loading the ZPUino soft processor is just the first step. The ZPUino  soft processor will sync the display but without any code running on the  processor it does not actually do anything. So here is a quick rundown  of the steps to take:

I am working today on getting the  arcade projects updated with the ucf file for the MegaWing and a  quickstart for Zetris.

• 6 months later...

i have the same problems as this guy (William did you ever figure it out?)

i tried your suggestions about zpuino/zetris but the IDE complained about no

VGALiquidCrystal library.

the generic VGA 'hello world' doesn't seem to work either.

The demo one included with PapilioProgrammer works fine

(outputs the ascii stuff on the serial port)

are all the Via's on the Arcade MegaWing v1.1 supposed to be populated ?

[see attachment]